India thrash Australia by 100 runs in U-19 World Cup

India thrash Australia by 100 runs in U-19 World Cup

It was always imperative to start the tournament on a dominant note and the Indian opening duo of Prithvi Shaw and Manjot Kalra were able to do just that.

The U19 World Cup has been termed as the "stepping stone" for the young cricketers and on Sunday, India and Australia gave it a true meaning.

There was no respite for the Australians even after their departure with Shubhman Gill tormenting the bowlers with his 63-run knock. Nagarkoti clocked 146.8 kmph as his fastest delivery and Mavi wasn't far behind at 144.5 kmph. The two pacers tested Australians with their nagging off-stump line.

Allrounder Jack Edward's star act was in vain for Australia, with the 17-year-old NSW product collecting 4-65 off nine overs before top-scoring with 73 runs opening the batting.

More news: Models accuse photographers of harassment
More news: 'Tide In, Dirt Out': Deadly Detergent Eating Flashmob Jumps to Dangerous Scale
More news: Jurgen Klopp answers questions on Liverpool replacing Philippe Coutinho

The Group B encounter between the former champion sides was termed as one of the biggest matches of the group stages and by the end, India had shown their all-round mettle to emerge victorious by a convincing margin of 100 runs. The splendid top-order batting vindicated Shaw's decision to bat in their tournament-opener. The contribution of the tail-enders was huge, especially with Abhishek Sharma putting up a useful 23 off just 8 deliveries. Cricket Australia CEO James Sutherland's son Will is also in the national squad. His opening partner also missed out on a ton, falling for 86 which came off 99 balls with 12 shots to the fence and on over the ropes.

The middle order batsmen lost their wickets, trying to accelerate the run-rate as Himanshu Rana (14) and Anukul Roy (6) fell cheaply. A well-constructed half century by the captain was laced with one six and four boundaries.

Australia U19 squad: Jason Sangha (NSW, captain), Will Sutherland (VIC, vice captain), Xavier Bartlett (QLD), Max Bryant (QLD), Jack Edwards (NSW), Zak Evans (VIC), Jarrod Freeman (TAS), Ryan Hadley (NSW), Baxter Holt (NSW), Nathan McSweeney (QLD), Jonathan Merlo (VIC), Lloyd Pope (SA), Jason Ralston (NSW), Param Uppal (NSW), Austin Waugh (NSW).

Newsletter has been successfully subscribed.

Related Articles