BJP moves EC against Cong's Rajya Sabha nominee in Gujarat

BJP moves EC against Cong's Rajya Sabha nominee in Gujarat

Former Minister and Congress leader Rajmani Patel will contest from Madhya Pradesh. Read Also: Cong names Rathwa, Yajnik for Rajya SabhaRumour mills After Congress officially declared the names of its two candidates from Delhi late on Sunday, news surfaced that Rathwa would be replaced by Rajiv Shukla who would be flying to Gujarat.

The BJP's complaint ahead of the biennial polls to the Upper House on March 23 marks yet another instance of its all out attack on the opposition party over a Rajya Sabha election as it had earlier targeted its senior leader Ahmed Patel during polls a year ago. Meanwhile, BJP alleged that there was anger among Congress leaders as the party had sprung surprises in candidate selection. After the names were announced, Gujarat Women Congress chief Sonal Patel resigned. He added that they were not ruling out the possibility of a Bengalurulike situation this time.

Tribal leader Rathwa was found wanting in certain documents needed for filing nomination at the Gujarat Assembly premises on Monday. "Hence, we fielded Kirtisinh Rana as the third candidate with party's mandate", Patel added.

However, the Congress dismissed the allegations as baseless and claimed that the returning officer accepted Rathwa's nomination papers after scrutiny today. My documents according to requirements were submitted. "There was no question of fielding another candidate in my place", he said.

Flatly turning down the request from Opposition JD (S) to extend support for its industrialist candidate B M Farooq for the Rajya Sabha seat, the ruling Congress party has chose to try its luck by gambling on winning the third out of the four Rajya Sabha seats from the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

More news: Eagles To Sign DT Haloti Ngata
More news: Trump envisions space force someday in military
More news: Vikings offer Kirk Cousins 3-year, $86M deal

The Sena has 63 MLAs, but the Congress does not expect to receive its surplus votes despite the smaller partner's anger at the BJP.

Meanwhile, the BJP has reportedly chose to field Rajiv Chandrashekar, who hails from Kerla, as its candidate due to pressure from the RSS.

Later, Anil Agarwal reached the state assembly premises as the ninth candidate of the BJP and filed his papers. Both the parties are in a position to send two candidates each to the Rajya Sabha, as the minimum number of votes required per candidate is 37. They did it in last RS election in Gujarat, yet could not win. Political observers, however, believe given their strenuous relations, it will be a herculean task for BJP leadership to convince Sena president Uddhav Thackeray to have his MLAs cast votes in its favour.

As the Assembly session was going on, the focus of attention remained the Returning Officer's chamber as scrutiny of nomination forms began on Tuesday.

Related Articles