BJP releases second list of 82 candidates for Karnataka elections

BJP releases second list of 82 candidates for Karnataka elections

Former chief minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, who is leading the BJP's charge in these elections, has been named in the alleged multi-million mining scam exposed by the former Lokayukta Santosh Hegde. The CM's son Dr. Yathindra Siddharamaiah will contest from Varuna in Mysuru district.

The party is yet to name candidates for Shantinagar segment in Bengaluru Central, Kittar, Nagthan, Sindgi, Raichur and Melukote. However in Melukote, the Congress has chose to support Darshan Puttannaiah, son of farmer leader and late MLA K.S. Puttannaiah, who is contesting from Karnataka Sarvodaya Party.

Controversial businessman-tuned politician Ashok Kheny, who is also NICE Chairman, also got the seat from Bidar (South), which he now represents, despite stiff opposition from many leaders of that region. The first list which was made public on April 8 had names of chief ministerial face BS Yeddyurappa, follower-turned-rival Eshwarappa among other top leaders. Chamundershwari was won by the Janata Dal (Secular) in the previous election. A loss in Karnataka will put the Congress party's future in the country on life support.

The Congress has accommodated kin of a few top leaders. Similarly, Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy's daughter Soumya Reddy has been given ticket from Jayanagar, against B.N. Vijay Kumar, incumbent BJP MLA. Both CM Siddaramaiah and KPCC Chief G Parameshwara have tipped him to get the ticket. "If the high command doesn't address this aspect of the state leadership, it might bring losses for the party", he said.

Sitting MLAs who were denied a ticket include Basavaraj Shivannavar from Badgy, Manohar Tehsildar from Hangal, Shiv Moorti Nayak from Mycunda, Turuverevere from Shriniwas and Sharabsherry from Tiptur.

More news: Man Utd at their best haven't come close to City
More news: Broncos to release CJ Anderson
More news: Xiaomi Mi 6X Coming On April 25, Official Render Available

In Kalaburagi Rural (SC) constituency, Vijaykumar, son of Mr. Ramakrishna, has been given ticket.

Dr Manjunath will contest from Chikkaballapur and Prof Mallikarjunappa will contest from Chamarajanagar. Gowda is the State NSUI President.

The ruling Congress is facing a stiff anti-incumbency factor due to its misrule during the last five years and this will help BJP recapture power with a comfortable majority in the May 12 election in Karnataka, party election in-charge P Muralidhar Rao said here today. This is lesser when compared to 2013, when the party gave 19 seats.

It was speculated that Siddaramaiah might contest from Badami in Bagalkot district but the party fielded Devraj Patil from the seat. They burned tyres and shouted slogans against party President Rahul Gandhi on a highway near Nelamangala. Some leaders also threatened to resign from the party, The Times of India reported.

Related Articles