Imran Khan elected new Prime Minister of Pakistan

Imran Khan elected new Prime Minister of Pakistan

Cricketer-turned politician Imran Khan was elected as Pakistan's new prime minister on Friday after he defeated veteran politician Shahbaz Sharif in a one-sided election in the National Assembly.

Sidhu arrived in Lahore via Wagah border crossing, from where he will travel to the federal capital Islamabad to attend the oath-taking ceremony of prime minister-in waiting Khan.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place on Saturday (August 18).

Votes secured by Imran Khan are the same as were polled by the party candidate for election of the Speaker.

More news: Met Office forecasts where Storm Ernesto will hit
More news: Flash flood watch into early Tuesday for Northern Virginia
More news: White House: 'We Won't Forget' How Turkey is Treating US Pastor

Navjot Singh Sidhu said "I have come here not as a politician but as a friend". "Hindustan jeevay, Pakistan jeevay", he chanted while reading a verse.

Khan will take the oath tomorrow as Pakistan's 22nd prime minister. "Sportsmen build bridges, break barriers, unite people", the former cricketer said.

India "desires a prosperous and progressive Pakistan at peace with its neighbours", the Ministry of External Affairs said in a statement. He invited Indian cricket legends Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and Navjot Singh Sidhu for the swearing-in ceremony. Khan's government will be the third consecutive democratic government in Pakistan since 2008 when military ruler General Pervez Musharraf announced elections after serving as president from 2001 to 2008 following a bloodless coup in 1999.

The PTI has chose to assigned task for these key slots to the person who have expertise in their respective profession during the first 100 days.

Related Articles