Modric ends Ronaldo-Messi era to be crowned world´s best

Modric ends Ronaldo-Messi era to be crowned world´s best

Croatia captain Luka Modrić has capped off an fantastic year by winning The Best FIFA Men's Player for 2018 at a ceremony in London on Monday night.

He beat Ronaldo and Liverpool´s Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah to the prize.

Messi's solitary World Cup goal against Nigeria and Ronaldo's spectacular overhead kick against his future employers in the Champions League quarter-finals are two of 10 goals on the shortlist, also including Gareth Bale's acrobatic strike for Real in the Champions League final.

"It was an unbelievable season, the best season of my life", the 32-year-old said before the event.

"The first thing I want say is congratulations to [Mohamed] Salah and Cristiano [Ronaldo] for their great seasons".

In Modric's acceptance speech he paid tribute to his hero Zvonimir Boban, captain of the 1998 Croatian side who excelled in France to finish third in the World Cup.

The Croatian was already crowned UEFA Player of the Year last month and ha now also lifted the prestigious Federation Internationale de Football Association award.

Fabio Capello has claimed Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo showed a lack of respect after the duo did not attend FIFA's The Best awards.

More news: United States may restrict Green Cards to aid recipients in new crackdown
More news: SiriusXM presses play on deal with Pandora Media
More news: Environment Canada confirms Ottawa area was hit by two tornadoes

The award were presented at this season's Champions League group-stage draw. The trophy returned to Madrid given that the holder till then was Ronaldo, who left Madrid to join Turin side, Juventus.

Diego Forlan felt they both should have made an appearance, despite not winning the top award.

Bizarrely, Thibaut Courtois won the Goalkeeper of the Year prize but wasn't selected in the team of the year.

Lyon's triumph was recognised in the Best Women's Coach award section, however.

Organised by France Football magazine, the Kopa Trophy will be handed out as part of this year's Ballon d'Or ceremony in Paris on December 3.

Top honors for men and women players and coaches were decided by a process that assigned four equal weights to the votes of fans, media, national team coaches and national team captains.

Best Women's Player appropriately went to Brazil's Marta, who is probably the sport's greatest current proponent, whilst Best Men's Coach went to French national team coach Didier Deschamps, and Reynald Pedros won the Best Women's Coach award for Olympique Lyonnais.

Related Articles