You can soon 'unsend' messages on Facebook Messenger

If you're too drunk to realize you're sending messages to someone late at night, you're probably too drunk to remember you have 10 minutes to delete them.

A Twitter user spotted the feature listed as "coming soon" in the release notes for version 191.0 of Messenger's iOS client, The Verge reported on Wednesday.

Currently, while Facebook users can delete messages that they sent from their own inbox, the recipient of the message can still see them.

Back in April, with Facebook still reeling from the Cambridge Analytica scandal, the company came under fire after it was discovered to be unsending messages sent from company executives, including Mark Zuckerberg, to other users.

Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it's been sent.

More news: Pakistan to break New Zealand jinx says Sarfraz
More news: Prince Charles' fears for Prince Harry and Meghan's baby
More news: White House Suspends CNN’s Jim Acosta Pass; Video Doesn’t Match Its Claims

Yet users will need to be quick as Facebook are giving those wanting to retrieve their messages just 10 minutes to do so. Maybe you sent a picture to someone you didn't want to.

Facebook is finally following suit and adding the feature to its Messenger app.

You'll have to notice the mistake pretty quickly if you want it erased from the digital world; but nevertheless, it's possible now.

So far, Facebook has not mentioned when the new "unsend" feature would be available.

Related Articles