India rest Jasprit Bumrah for Black Caps series

India rest Jasprit Bumrah for Black Caps series

Jasprit Bumrah, who picked 21 wickets at an average of 17 in the recently-concluded four-Test series in Australia, has been rested for the limited-overs leg of the series, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Tuesday. The list for most overs bowled across the three formats in worldwide cricket in 2018 was also led by Lyon (636.3) and Bumrah (511.3), but the India fast bowler led the wicket charts for the year with a tally of 78. The BCCI, in its release, stated that it took the decision "keeping in mind the workload of the bowler" and give the pacer some much-needed rest.

After the bumper series win in Australia, the Indian selectors have rested fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah from the ODI series against Australia and the T20I series against New Zealand.

Led by Bumrah, the Indians easily outbowled Australia in the Test series, prompting home captain Tim Paine to call it "potentially the best pace attack in the world".

More news: ALL Records Broken in Spurs-Thunder 2OT Clash
More news: Hawaii Rep. Tulsi Gabbard says she is running for president in 2020
More news: See What the Monster in "Bird Box" Was Supposed to Look Like

"The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has chose to rest India pacer Jasprit Bumrah for the forthcoming ODI series against Australia and the tour in New Zealand".

India T20I squad for New Zealand: Kohli (c), Sharma (vc), Rahul, Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Karthik, Jadhav, Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Yadav, Chahal, Kumar, Siraj, Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul.

Meanwhile, Siraj has been in top form with the ball in domestic cricket. Kaul has so far played three ODIs and two T20Is. Kaul has ten wickets in his last two first-class games against Kerala and Hyderabad. Among worldwide batsmen, Ross Taylor and Martin Guptill have retained their third and 14th positions after scoring 281 and 153 runs, respectively, while New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has dropped out of the top-10 to 11th position. The five-match ODI series against the Black Caps will get underway from January 23, and the tour will then end with three T20Is (February 6, 8 and 10).

Related Articles